“Hey, no sweat!”: Adventures in DIY deodorant.

Hear me out, you have to try this…

I had been wanting to stop wearing antiperspirant because… well I don’t like the idea of applying a mixture of creepy chemicals and aluminum to my body. I had tried using Crystal deodorant spray, but I found it didn’t work for me. Like at all. Then I came across a great post on Wake Up World with a recipe for Coconut Oil Deodorant. I was intrigued… I was already on the coconut oil bandwagon. It has so many uses… you can cook with it, you can use it on your skin, and you can even use it to remove those pesky bar-code stickers that refuse to peel off in one piece and leave a bunch of sticky goop behind that you smear around with your fingernails until you decide it’s good enough and you are ready to move on with your life. (First world problems, am I right?) Back to deodorant. Such a simple recipe… use equal parts of melted Coconut Oil, cornstarch, and baking soda. Mix it up. Let it cool and solidify. Done.

Get this… you can even take an empty deodorant container, scrape out all the gunk, then refill it with your coconut oil mixture before it solidifies! I love the idea of natural deodorant. But applying deodorant from a jar with a popsicle stick or something to that effect? Not so much.

The results? Well I used 1/4 cup of each ingredient and that was just about right to refill the empty stick. The recipe I found also mentioned that you can add a few drops of an essential oil. I had the lavender all queued up, then was so proud of myself for thinking to refill an empty deodorant stick and got a little ahead of myself completely skipping the essential oil step. Oops.

I’m on day 3 using this, and it. is. amazing. Seriously, never going back. It works great. Even better than antiperspirant. I smell like a dessert. It took me ten minutes to make. Cons? Haven’t run into any! All the ingredients are cheap and you may already have them in stock! You can order the coconut oil on amazon if you’re into that sorta thing.

Has anyone else tried this recipe? Modified it at all? Tell me how it worked out for you!

2 thoughts on ““Hey, no sweat!”: Adventures in DIY deodorant.

  1. Pingback: whats lurking in your underarms ? | oats 'n goats

Leave a Reply

