Wrap-around sweater for baby Kata!

Chris bought me Greetings from Knit Cafe for my birthday. This book is amazing!

As soon as I saw the pattern for this baby sweater, I knew I had to make if for Annamaria since she is expecting a baby girl in December.
It took me a week to make. A couple bumps in the road with the sleeve bind off, but otherwise smooth sailing. It turned out so cute!
I used Cotton Ease yarn in Seaspray blue. I thought pink or purple would be too cliche for a baby girl and wanted to go a different route. I’m also planning on making Mary Jane baby booties to match. We’ll see how they turn out….



I love how the sweater is reversible… you can tie it either in the front or the back.
It was knit flat as well, then the sleeves were picked up and knit. The sleeve seam is along the top of the arm instead of the underarm to make it more comfortable for the baby to wear. The sleeve was closed off with 3 Needle Bind-off so there was no sewing involved (yay!).

I’m glad I managed to finish this in a week. With the exception of socks, this is the first clothing item I’ve made! For humans, anyway.

Leave a Reply

